Firefighter and staff with more than 750 years experience recognised

  Publish Date:

By Sean Rooney

A group of experienced firefighters and Scottish Fire and Rescue Service colleagues with a combined service of 750 years have been recognised at a special award ceremony.

The 31-strong gathering, including family members, was brought together at the Reid Hall in Forfar, where they received Long Service Good Conduct medals and a host of special recognition certificates.

The medals and certificates were presented by SFRS Chief Officer Martin Blunden, Deputy Assistant Chief Officer David Farries, Local Senior Officer for Perth, Kinross, Angus and Dundee Gordon Pryde with Provost Ronnie Proctor in attendance.

LSO Pryde said: “It was a real privilege to lead this fantastic ceremony in recognition of some of our incredible and highly committed staff and firefighters.

“This was a formal opportunity to recognise and reward examples of long service, as well as outstanding individual and station contributions.

“There is no doubt that every single one has earned this recognition – for their outstanding conduct over the past number of decades, and for their long and exemplary commitment to the service and their communities.”

The firefighters and staff receiving certificates for 40 years' service were:

  • Firefighter Jacqueline Cargill (Dundee Operations Control)
  • Watch Manager Brian Cuthill (Brechin)
  • Watch Manager Ian Kemp (Arbroath)
  • Community Safety Advocate Stewart Nelson.

Firefighter Iain Murray was given a Deputy Assistant Chief Officer Commendation for his actions in protecting a member of the public from harm.

Another seven members of staff and firefighters were also recognised for more than 30 years’ of service, including:


  • Kenneth Bruce (Blackness Road, Dundee)
  • Ronnie Clark (Balmossie)
  • Graham Ogilvie (Brechin)
  • Charles Scrimgeour (Blairgowrie)
  • Alan Smith (Blairgowrie)

Crew Managers

  • David Donald (Brechin)
  • Scott Keir (Brechin)

A further 19 SFRS firefighters and staff received 20 year awards, including:

  • Scott Aracari (Balmossie)
  • James Donaldson (Thurso)
  • Euan Dorward (Kingsway and Carnoustie)
  • Wendy Duigan (Perth)
  • David Gates (Macalpine Road)
  • Craig Kemp (Blairgowrie)
  • Kenneth Mackie (Montrose)
  • Stuart Nicoll (Kingsway East)
  • Bryan Nelson (North Anderson Drive and Altens)
  • Ralph Norrie (Macalpine Road)
  • Stephen Oliver (Arbroath and Carnoustie)
  • Campbell Sands (Balmossie and Blairgowrie)
  • Alan Scott (Operations Control)
  • Chris Smith (Blargowrie and Local Authority Liaison Officer)
  • William Stoops (Blackness Road)
  • Garry West (Kirkmichael)
  • Aaron White (Operational Support Officer)
  • Jacqui McDonald (Health and Wellbeing)
  • Stacey Tyrrel (Health and Wellbeing)

Our Latest News