SFRS welcomes 61 new wholetime firefighters

  Publish Date:

By Steven O'Neill

FF Graduation image

Scotland’s Chief Officer today formally welcomed 61 new firefighters who will work to protect communities across the country.

The trainees graduated at the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service’s National Training Centre, Cambuslang following a gruelling 14-week training schedule.

The group formally received their scrolls from SFRS Chief Officer Martin Blunden and Board Chair Kirsty Darwent on Friday, May 3 in front of their proud families and friends. 

They were earlier put through their paces in a series of tactical displays.

They showcased the various technical rescue skills which will enable them to respond safely and effectively to a range of incidents, including road traffic collision. 

Chief Officer Blunden said: “I’m delighted to welcome our newest firefighters as they start their career with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.

“They have worked extremely hard to be here today - this graduation event is something that will no doubt be treasured by both themselves and their families for years to come."

He added: “Being a firefighter is an extremely rewarding job. 

"Our crews are not only trained to respond to some of the most challenging incidents but also equipped to prevent harm from arising in the first place, working in partnership wherever possible and appropriate.

"It's therefore an absolute privilege to be here today and I hope our newest graduates will have a long and enjoyable career ahead of them with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.”

The graduates are John Cullen, Callum Johnson, Jordan Gribben, Kenneth MacLean, Paul Bennie, Paul Christie, David Fraser, Richard Burns, David Purkiss and David Nash.

They also included Shaun York, Gary Ralston, Shaun McGowan, Mark McManus, Dean McLean, Ross McSorley, Brendan Strang, Martin McCann, Christopher Johnstone, Callum Mitchell, Alan Jamieson, Mitchell Allan, John Polockus, Aidan Nicol, Ben Pollock, Bryan Thomson, Daniel Simpson,  Douglas McMaster and Sam McCreath. 

Also included were Camran Moffat, Lee Brown, Gary Adams, Mark Torrens, Martin Anderson, Lewis James, Philip Barclay, Jonathan Gray, Stuart McKay, Robert Hall, Bradley Robertson, Lee Martin, Callum Stewart, Paul Traynor, David Small, Lee McMichael and Russell Jones. 

And the remainder were Nathan Taggart, James Gibb, Ryan Mills, David Daschofsky, Tom Campbell-Pain, James Donaghy, Craig Conner, Graeme Docherty, Terry Soons, Drew Duncanson, Christopher O'Malley, Frances McQuade, David Whitecross, Stewart Blackadder and Liam Reid. 

Our Latest News